01 April 2009

Buffalo Wild Wings Email

Please visit here for moved posting! Thanks!

7 comments:

TLDR1440 said...

I just went to BWW in Oklahoma Ctiy this week and looked all the way through their 5-page allergen listing. The only foods that did not have wheat or soy or gluten (remember, soy is not gluten-free) were coleslaw and ice cream. ALL of their meat products had at least one of those 3 contaminants. And, since there was no meat, I didn’t bother checking any of the sauces.

Janet said...

Actually soy is gluten-free unless it states otherwise, it's soy SAUCE that is not gluten-free. Soy in-itself can be it's own separate allergy, but does not contain gluten and is actually used frequently as a substitute in gluten-free products and soya flour is recommend often in recipes because of it's gluten-free label.

Amanda said...

Thank you for posting this and replying to the above poster. It seems they have posted in a few locations and are not aware of the difference between soy and soy sauce.

Janet, when you've ordered from BWW have you had fried items or do you have them put wings and things in the oven? What types of foods have you ordered?

My mom's group is having a CNO and I'd love to go but would feel bad if my husband couldn't eat anything. He's pretty used to it but we find it more of a pain explaining to others why he's having just a few drinks and nothing else.

Janet said...

Unfortunately, there seem to be many that confuse soy and soy sauce and it's a lot because of the lack of knowledge they are given upon diagnosis.

As for the wings, they are fried seperately before beign coated in sauce, BUT they do use the same contains to sauce both boneless and traditional wings, so there's a chance of cross-contamination. I usually try to stick to Tuesday nights- it's wing night and most people order the traditional wings because that's the special of the night. I also get the wings and I haven't tried anything else from there. I also buy the bottles of the sauces and take them home to marinate my own chicken and it's amazing that way, PLUS, you get the bonus of eating out without the worry of it. BUT, you can ask when you first arrive and they are are super helpful and knowledgeable. The allergen list is also available for you to review there. (I'm still trying to figure out how to attach it to my post.) Also, I just updated the posting with the most recent email I received from them. Good luck!

Janet said...

Scratch that, not fried separately...

Kathy A said...

I have Celiac Disease severely and have no problem with the traditional wings at Buffalo Wild Wings as long as they are not asian or teriyaki. I NEVER eat the boneless ones because of the fact that they are fried and breaded and basically I stay away from anything breaded. Anyway I ate the following traditional wings and had no reaction what so ever: Mild wings, honey BBQ (delicious, my favorite), and Parmesan Garlic. In the past when I have a reaction it happens within 20 minutes if ingesting and this does not happen with these traditional wings.

Janet said...

@Kathy-
I love the Honey BBQ as well but I also love spicy so I usually get the Caribean Jerk or Spicy Garlic. The biggest thing about dining out anywhere, but especially here since they do mix some things together is to let them know right away that you have a food allergy, just that knowledge usually helps!